North Crest Restoration Completed at Custom House

Above - The original North Facing crest

The restoration of the second original Custom House royal coat of arms of Scotland has been painstakingly completed by artist Graciela Ainsworth, completing the final stage of restoration at the historic building.

Graciela Ainsworth Sculpture Conservation is an award-winning company in the field of conservation and restoration of public and privately-owned sculpture and statuary, museum artefacts, carved stonework and historic building fabric. The company, with over 25 years experience and accredited by ICON, has an expert team of 9 trained conservators, artists and sculptors all of whom pride themselves in completing high quality conservation and restoration work within budget.

The royal arms of Scotland was the official coat of arms of the King of Scots first adopted in the 12th century. With the Union of the Crowns in 1603, James VI inherited the thrones of England and Ireland and thus his arms in Scotland were now quartered with the arms of England (which was itself quartered with France) with an additional quarter for Ireland also added (the arms would continue to alter in later years).

See below pictures for the before and after of the crest:

Above - The coat of arms had suffered from years of wear and tear and was severely weather beaten

Above - The royal coat of arms of Scotland above the entrance to the Robert Burns museum